About the Samajam

Location : Sg. Siput, Perak

Association Name

Sg. Siput Malayalee Association (SSMA)

Year of Inception


Registration Number



No. 279, Lorong Heawood 11, Taman Heawood, 31100 Sungai Siput, Perak, Malaysia


R. Baskran Nair

Deputy President

Vinoth Baskaran

Vice President

Sarojam Menon

Hon. Gen. Secretary

Haridasan Menon

Hon. Gen. Treasurer

Cobee Mathavan

For several years before 1987 there was a group of Malayalees who got together each year to celebrate the Onam Festival. This initial group included personalities like Mr Aravind (Kamuning Estate), Mr Philips, Mr Panickar, Mr Pillai and several others.

This group of pioneers collected funds and iniitiated the Onasadhya followed by a Malayalam movie at one of the then existing cinema halls. Later cultural shows which included dances and songs were conducted at the Shri Subramaniam Temple Wedding Hall in Sg Siput.

In 1985, a group of young Malayalees who included Shri K Vassu from the Police, Shri Vasu Sangguni from Maybank, Shri K Saishoo and many others under the leadership of Shri Letchumanan (Police Special Branch Officer) took over the conduct of these Onam Celebrations. A grand cultural show with Onasadhya was held at the Town Hall in Sg Siput. Our Guest of Honour was YB Dato Seri S Samy Vellu who was then the Member of Parliament for Sg Siput Parliamentary Constituency. More than 800 people from Sg Siput and nearby towns attended this grand Onam Celebration.

Executive Committee

Vasu Sangguni AMP


A. Rathakrishnan

Deputy President

Letchimy A. Veerapan

Vice President

Vinodha N S Menon

Hon. Secretary

K. Jaya

Asst. Secretary

Vasu Karuppan

Hon. Treasurer

Leela G. Nair

Asst. Treasurer

B. Padmanabhan

Youth Chairperson


Ladies Chairperson

Prema Wadzi

Committee Member

K. Mahandan

Committee Member

Sugumar Kuttiappan Nair

Committee Member

Tamilselvi Krishnan

Committee Member

Venugopal C. Maniam

Committee Member

Selvamalar Kuroop

Committee Member

Krishnan Velutham


R. T. Arunasalam


Explore other Samajams.

Learn more on the various samajams affiliated within AMMA.